Skip directly to content

Author Index

  • Jennifer Deermer

    Located in Huntsville, Madison County, Sci-Quest is a hands-on science center that offers visitors more...
  • Norman C. Delaney
    Raphael Semmes

    Confederate rear admiral and brigadier general Raphael Semmes (1809-1877) left an enduring legacy as...
  • Andrew Denson
    John Ross

    John Ross (1790-1866) was the most important Cherokee political leader of the nineteenth century. He...
  • A. Blake Denton
    First Methodist Church of Union Springs, Alabama v. Haywood Lynn Scott

    First Methodist Church of Union Springs, Alabama, et al v. Haywood Lynn Scott, et al. was a historic civil rights-era case decided by the Alabama Supreme Court.
  • Brett J. Derbes
    Sonny Callahan

    Herbert (Sonny) Leon Callahan Jr. (1932- ) served 18 years as a Republican representative to the U.S....
  • Brett J. Derbes
    John Hunt Morgan

    Alabama native John Hunt Morgan (1825-1864) was a merchant and military officer who served in the U.S....
  • Brett J. Derbes
    James T. Rapier

    James Thomas Rapier (1837-1883) was one of three African American Republican congressmen from Alabama...
  • Brett J. Derbes
    William Forney

    William Henry Forney (1823-1894) was a Democratic Representative to Congress from 1875 to 1893. Forney...
  • Brett J. Derbes
    Frank Boykin

    Democrat Frank William Boykin (1885-1969) was one of the longest-serving congressmen from Alabama. Representing...
  • Brett J. Derbes
    Benjamin S. Turner

    Born into slavery, Benjamin Sterling Turner (1825-1894) was an entrepreneur, business executive, civic...