Skip directly to content

Downtown Auburn

Auburn, located in west-central Lee County, is the largest city in the county and the home of Auburn University, one of Alabama's land-grant universities. The town was incorporated in 1839, its name taken from the line "Sweet Auburn, loveliest village of the plain"in poet Oliver Goldsmith's "Deserted Village." The Auburn metropolitan area is one of the fastest-growing regions in the state.
Photograph by Justin Dubois