Skip directly to content

Macon County Courthouse

Macon County was founded in 1832 and named for North Carolina U.S. senator Nathaniel Macon. Tuskegee was named the county seat in 1832, and the current county courthouse, which is listed on the National Register of Historic Places, was built during the mid-nineteenth century.
Photograph by Justin Dubois